should i have tried harder to not have me and my roommate’s dog fixed?

it’s just really hard to justify it to most people, even to myself. i’m really new to all this, so I hope you can understand why I just let it happen.

its considered a safety thing, something for the health of the dog, and something to prevent a male dog from smelling a female in heat and running away to find her. there’s a lot of reasons why we as a society encourage it.
but i’ve seen a lot of stuff on here about how its mutilation, and i can completely see why. it is a surgery that a dog would probably not consent to.

i feel guilt, and i felt guilt for feeling guilt because one of the main reasons why i would’ve prevented that surgery was just so i could see if the dog wanted to have sex with me or something, and THATS selfish. hopefully this makes sense, i’m just curious if anyone else struggled with being a co-dog owner and having to fix a dog because you live with someone who would be highly against leaving them alone

That's the problem with co ownership of animals with non zoos it's kinda like shooting yourself. You end up with a decent companion that you can't really do anything sexual with.

That's the problem with co ownership of animals with non zoos it's kinda like shooting yourself. You end up with a decent companion that you can't really do anything sexual with.
yeah, i just feel bad. i’m not fully educated on all the science of it, but i do wonder if he’s more lethargic or sad. maybe i’m making it up?

it’s just really hard to justify it to most people, even to myself. i’m really new to all this, so I hope you can understand why I just let it happen.

its considered a safety thing, something for the health of the dog, and something to prevent a male dog from smelling a female in heat and running away to find her. there’s a lot of reasons why we as a society encourage it.